Back to All Events

2016 Southern California/Baja Biennial

  • San Diego Art Institute 1439 El Prado San Diego, CA, 92101 United States (map)

The San Diego Art Institute is pleased to announce the opening of the 2016 Southern California/Baja Biennial on Saturday, December 10. The opening reception will take place at San Diego Art Institute, 1439 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101 from 6pm-8pm. Music will be provided by local group HILO. The exhibition will run through January 29, 2017.

For the past four decades, San Diego Art Institute has been hosting a biennial featuring juried and invitational work by artists living and working between Los Angeles and Tijuana. This international exhibition—juried by Anthony Graham, Assistant Curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art San Diego—features work in a range of mediums including photography, installation, painting, video, and sculpture. The night of the opening, five cash prizes will be awarded, including the $1,000 Juror’s Choice award. Additionally, SDAI will award the 7th Annual “Community Impact” award to Anthony LoBue, aka “Tony the Vet”. This award is given to an individual in honor of their generosity of spirit, dedication, and support of the visual arts while in pursuit of their own artistic excellence. Also opening on December 10th is an installation in SDAI’s stairwell, designed by Sosolimited, a San Diego-based art and technology studio that specializes in interactive environments and data-driven design.

Selected artists in the 2016 Southern California/Baja Biennial include: Eduardo Aispuro, Mira Alibek, Trevor Amery, Terry Arena, Debe Arlook, Christine Atkinson, Anna Bae, Tami Bahat, Kristina Bell DiTullo, Adam Bemanian, James Bertucci, Ashley Blalock, Andrew Bracken, Carolyn Brann, Cathy Breslaw, Kelly Brumfield-Woods, Jessica Buie, Debbie Carlson, Anastasia Castle, Chenhung Chen, Sherry Xiaohong Chen, Gina Cholick, Lissa Corona, Camilo Cruz, Amanda Dahlgren, Alec Dawson, Carol del Tufo Harmon, Sheena Rae Dowling, Corey Dunlap, Ashley Fenderson, Kevin Freligh, Kaori Fukuyama, Stacie Greene, Eleanor Greer, Janice Grinsell, Marina Grize, Ivy Guild, Kristin Hough, Nicholas Hullibarger, Bryan Ida, Beliz Iristay, Aaron Garretson, Terry Hastings, Adriene Hughes, Abbey Hepner, Alexander Kohnke, Georgia K. Laris, Nick Lesley, Adam Manley, Christine McKee, Carrie Minikel, Scott Mitchell Putesky, Yuka Murakami, Tim Murdoch, Khang Nguyen, Leah Pantea, Paula Riff, Vabianna Santos, Gail Schneider, Jeannette Scollard-Hurd, Julia Schwartz, Ilanit Shalev, Aren Skalman, Ash Eliza Smith, Tyler Stefanich, Maya VanderSchuit, Rebecca Webb, Andrea Welton, Charisse Weston, Sheldon Wood, and Jeremy Zierau.

*Image: BjorneOer #2, The Resonance of Loss, East Greenland by Adrienne Hughes

This exhibition is sponsored by the City of San Diego Commission for Arts and Culture.
Beverages provided by Duck Foot Brewing Company.


Earlier Event: December 1
Melissa Beck: "CLOTHING STORE"
Later Event: January 7
Cat Chiu Phillips: Consume